

MAI AYAN BANKING BERHAD

(Company No. 3813-K) (Incorporated in Malaysia under the Companies Ordinances, 1940-1946)

NOTICE OF BOOK CLOSURE DATE FOR FINAL DIVIDEND FOR THE FINANCIAL YEAR ENDED 30 JUNE 2010 AND OTHER KEY DATES FOR DIVIDEND REINVESTMENT PLAN.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT the Record of Depositors for ordinary shares of Malayan Banking Berhad ("Maybank") will be closed at 5.00 p.m. on 22 November 2010 ("Entitlement Date") to determine the shareholders' entitlement to the final cash dividend of RM0.44 per ordinary share of RM1.00 each held in Maybank ("Maybank Share") less 25% tax for the financial year ended 30 June 2010, which was approved by the shareholders of Maybank at the annual general meeting held on 29 September 2010 ("Final Dividend").

AND THAT the shareholders of Maybank shall be entitled to the Final Dividend only in respect of:

- (a) Maybank Shares deposited into the Depositors' Securities Accounts before 12.30 p.m. on 18 November 2010 (in respect of shares exempted from mandatory deposit);
- Maybank Shares transferred to the Depositors' Securities Accounts in respect of ordinary (b) transfers before 4.00 p.m. on 22 November 2010; and
- (c) Maybank Shares bought on Bursa Malaysia Securities Berhad ("Bursa Securities") on a cum entitlement basis according to the rules of Bursa Securities (i.e. before 5.00 p.m. on 16 November 2010).

FURTHER NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT the recurrent and optional dividend reinvestment plan ("DRP") that allows the shareholders of Maybank to reinvest their cash dividend into new Maybank Shares shall apply to the payment of the Final Dividend, where the gross electable portion of the Final Dividend is RM0.40 per Maybank Share held (RM0.30 net per Maybank Share) subject to the terms and conditions set out in the relevant document and form in respect of the DRP which will be despatched to the entitled shareholders two (2) market days after the Entitlement Date (i.e. by 24 November 2010).

The closing date to participate in the DRP is targeted to be 8 December 2010. The issue price of new Maybank Shares to be issued pursuant to the DRP was fixed at RM7.70 per new Maybank Share ("Issue Price"). The Issue Price is based on the five (5)-day volume weighted average market price ("VWAMP") of RM8.99 per Maybank Share up to and including 3 November 2010, being the last trading day prior to 4 November 2010, being the price fixing date for the Issue Price, after adjusting for the followina:

- a gross dividend adjustment of RM0.44 to the five (5)-day VWAMP ("Ex-Dividend VWAMP"); (a) and
- (b) a discount of RM0.85 which is approximately 9.9% discount to the Ex-Dividend VWAMP of RM8 55

The expected date for issuance and allotment of new Maybank Shares as well as payment of cash dividend to entitled shareholders is on 20 December 2010.

By order of the Board

MOHD NAZLAN MOHD GHAZALI (LS 0008977) Company Secretary

15 November 2010